The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

While it may be true that by adding a café in its bookstore, Monarch books could increase the number of customers, the argument does not make a cogent case to persuade Monarch books to replace their children section for a café store. It is easy to understand why people would want to drink a coffee while reading a book, but the argument is based on poor and unbacked criteria that it may not convince people to close the children section entirely.

The argument starts by contradicting itself by mentioning that Monarch books are popular due to its large selection of books. By removing an entire book section, they would be “removing” some of its popularity. A decrease in popularity will mean a decrease in costumers, the opposite of what the board of directors is trying to accomplish. Therefore, the first question that the board of directors need to ask themselves is if it is worth removing something that made them successful over the years.

The board of directors seem to be clearly convinced that by replacing the children section with a café will allow them to have more customers. They support this claim by mentioning the national census and how it shows the decline on the population under age ten. However, this cannot be taken for granted. The reasons why the census shows a decline on the population under ten could be due to various reasons that could change in the following years. It is true a census could be used to predict an outcome, but that outcome could also be entirely different at the end.

Last but not least, they mention that by opening a café Monarch books could better compete with Regal Books since Regal Books already has a cafe. What they lack to mention, though, is whether Regal Books discontinued any of their book sections. What if they did not? Then their competition will have a huge advantage over Monarch books since they have all their book sections intact and a café.

A good café within a bookstore with tasty coffee drinks are sure to increase the number of visitors and will definitely provide a more pleasant visit for its visitors. However, the authors of this argument are not likely to convince anybody of replacing a children book section for a café.