The following is a recommendation from the business manager of Monarch Books.

"Since its opening in Collegeville twenty years ago, Monarch Books has developed a large customer base due to its reader-friendly atmosphere and wide selection of books on all subjects. Last month, Book and Bean, a combination bookstore and coffee shop, announced its intention to open a Collegeville store. Monarch Books should open its own in-store café in the space currently devoted to children's books. Given recent national census data indicating a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten, sales of children's books are likely to decline. By replacing its children's books section with a café, Monarch Books can increase profits and ward off competition from Book and Bean."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The recommendation assumes that Book and Bean has a better business model acting as a threat to Monarch Books and population under age of 10 will not increase in the near future. It can also be inferred from the recommendation that Monarch Books has been a monopoly over the past twenty years in Collegeville. These assumptions and inferences indicate a tone of apprehension and fear on part of the business manager.

On the contrary, the recommendation also states its reader-friendly atmosphere and wide selection of books on all subjects as the reasons for its large customer base. This line of reasoning cannot be justified unless a thorough survey is conducted towards knowing the reasons for having such a customer base. Since Monarch Books has been a monopoly, the residents of Collegeville might have had no other option than to prefer the only book store in town. We also do not know the preferences of the town. Does the town prefer reading physical books by visiting the local store or does it prefer online reading? Also, is the population aging, in which case we can assume that physical book reading is preferred more. In addition to these, another pertinent question to be asked is: are online deliveries not available at the town prompting them to prefer Monarch Books instead?

The recommendations mention of national census data does not forebode the future picture. So Monarch Books did not take into account the possibility of increase in population in the future due to factors like migration or increased sperm count. Discounting such possibilities might affect its prospective business. Moreover, a prospective profit making space would be taken over by a café which would be a new domain altogether for the manager to oversee. This can be an added burden diverting the focus and energy of the business away from books, its main source of business. Also pertinent is whether the residents of the town prefer reading their books over a cup of coffee is a question to be answered. Was any study done to such effect? Are there any cafeterias in the town? Is so, why would the residents prefer visiting these cafes?

In addition, the business manager should have also considered the affect of having a café within the store. Would having a café really make a big difference? Has Book and Bean been successful in implementing such a model somewhere else too? Or is it the firm’s first venture? If it is so, the business manager should have a wait and watch approach rather than rushing into a decision. Above all, he seems confident of his customer base due to its atmosphere and selection of books. If at all the existing customers are attracted by the store’s positive attributes it would be wise for the business manager to hold his plans.