The following is a recommendation from the business manager of Monarch Books.

"Since its opening in Collegeville twenty years ago, Monarch Books has developed a large customer base due to its reader-friendly atmosphere and wide selection of books on all subjects. Last month, Book and Bean, a combination bookstore and coffee shop, announced its intention to open a Collegeville store. Monarch Books should open its own in-store café in the space currently devoted to children's books. Given recent national census data indicating a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten, sales of children's books are likely to decline. By replacing its children's books section with a café, Monarch Books can increase profits and ward off competition from Book and Bean."

According to the passage, the author asserts that Monarch Book should replace current children’s book section to in-store café so that Monarch book can increase profits and win in competition with Book and Bean book store. However, the author’s suggestion should be questioned and examined with more evidence since there seems to be many problems with such conclusion.

To begin with, the author claims to introduce in-store café after announcement of Book and Bean’s intention to open a Collegeville store which is considered to be a new threat to Monarch Books. However, this may not be the case. This is because there is no evidence to predict the success of Book and Bean. The author is worrying about the arrival of Bean and Book in Collegeville, however, this is not an actual plan but only ‘intention’ to open a bookstore. Not only that, there is no evidence whether Book and Bean was successful in bookstore business in other regions. Monarch Books may have more market shares in bookstore business so that the arrival of Book and Bean in Collegeville cannot be regarded as a threat. Additionally, even though it was successful in other area, there is no guarantee that Book and Bean would be successful in Collegeville. Thus, before considering the actual market share and how successful the Book and Bean in other area and more concrete data to predict the success of Book and Bean in Collegeville, introducing an in-store café might be a hasty conclusion.

Moreover, it is assumed that the sales of children’s book will decrease due to significant population decline under age ten which supports for the replacement of children’s book section into in-store café. However, this argument should be taken into consideration. Merely the fact that national census data that population of children is declining does not explain the sales scales for children’s books. Today’s parents may spend more money on the children’s education compared to the past. In the past decade, the education rate was lower and many children, especially girls, could not access to educational opportunity. The absolute number of children may have been decreased, however, when considering the actual number of who is accessible to such material may have been increased. Moreover, parents may buy more books for a single child. And Collegeville can be a town where the population of children is relatively high compared to average population. Therefore, further information should be provided on the actual readership of children including the features of Collegeville’s children.

Finally, the argument rests on the assumption that opening an in-store café, instead of current children’s book section, can increase profits; however, it needs to be examined with further evidence. When considering the cost of running café such as the remodeling cost and the paid labor for café workers, Monarch Books may not earn profits. Not only that, Monarch Book’s customers might have been attracted by its reader-friendly atmosphere and wide selection of books. If Monarch Book changes into café, customers may feel disturbed by the café and find reformed bookstore unpleasant. Also, one of the attractive features of Monarch, the diversity of book genre, may get lost. Hence, replacing children’s book section into café should be dealt seriously in order to maintain Monarch Book’s existing customers.

In conclusion, the author needs to reconsider his/her argument since there are some unconvincing warrants in the suggestions. To make it worthy, the author should examine the position that Monarch Book has in bookstore market, analysis on the competitor and further information on children’s readership.