The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee — a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

In the recommendation, the personal director insists that Acme Publishing Company should enroll its employees to Easy Read Speed-Reading course which claims to improve the productvity of its members and help achieve promotions. Although the personal director’s interest is for the good of the company, he fails to make a cogent argument with realisitc examples for Acme Publishing to adopt the course. The authors must substantially provide evidence and answer the three questions purported bellow.

First of, how did the author generalize the success of Easy Read Speed Reading course? There seems to be no background or evidence to help us make correlations between the employees of many of these other companies and employees of Acme Publishing Compnay, i.e. the type of employees can vary. Possible impact between these companies and this kind of training might not even help gain the enticed proclivity at Acme. Maybe the employees of Acme publishing company do not have any reading involved in their day to day job, or perhaps it involves very short amount making it reddundant for them to learn to read fast. If this is true, the authors argument insisting the course is seriously dampned.

Second of all, how did the author conclude that faster reading will increase productivity without substantial evidence or a systematic study? let's say the author’s touted speed reading course did help employees to read fast and absorb quickly, but how much of it did they retain and could recollect the next day? Perhaps because of the hastiness involved in absorbing information, the employees may not effectively learn anything but all the information will just be transitive. Moreover, there is no strict evidence that employees who read quickly will continue working more and harder and not start to remiss and extend their breaks by indulging in sports activities thinking they can finish work soon, this might infact be completely detrimental for Acme Publishing. If all this turns out to be true, the authors arguemnt holds no water.

Finally, even if Acme decides to enroll its employees to Easy Read, how many of them must be enrolled? Should the entire company be enrolled? if Acme publishing is a cosmopolitan company with thosands of employees, 500$ per employee is now not a small number anymore. Has the author considered this estimation before suggesting the enrolement? The author's lack of analysis can cost Acme Publshing a fortune just to train its employees to read faster.

In conclusion, the aguments made by personal director as of now is flawed due to its resilience on several spurious generalizations and unwarranted assumptions. The author must first answer the above questions for the Acme Publishing Company to take his intiative into consideration for further validation.