The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument of Super Screen should allocate a greater share of budget next year to reaching the public through advertising is flawed. The author draws the conclusion based on the insufficient data of recent report and vague term. Furthermore, the author also makes the mistake by considering that lack of awareness is the thing behind the fewer attendance while it could be other reasons for which people did not attend to watch Super Screen produced movies.

First, the author mentioned that fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies during the past year than any other year according to a recent report from marketing department. However, the author fails to deliver the actual number of people that decreased from the past year. If author mentioned the actual number of people, then it would be possible to evaluate the argument. Also author mentioned that the percentage of positive review about specific movies by reviews increased but it is not cleared about how many positive review was increased. There is mentioned specific movies but not all which makes the argument flawed.

Secondly, the author used some terms such as fewer, specific, good quality. The author did not demonstrated clearly how many people decreased by fewer. Also specific movies did not represent all movies. It coold be possible that some movies got good good response from reviewers not all. Also it is not clear by the term good quality movie as good quality movies vary from person to person as some people like action movies while some like art film.

Finally, tha author considered people lack of awareness was the reason behind the incident. But it could be possible that the production company only made movies for a certion group of people. Thus mass people didn't like to watch their movies. If if author mentioned clearly the popularity of movies among the mass audience then it could be possible to evaluate the argument.

The argument can be strengthened by presenting the actual number of people decreasing, clearing the vague terms. As it stands now, however, the argument is flawed for the reasons menti