The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-Production movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The author of the given memo proposes that Super Screen should allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reach the public

through advertisement. This proposal is based on the conclusion that the problem lies not with the quality of their movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good qualities are available. The author here makes a hasty conclusion based on several unwarranted assumptions. The deficiency in his argument needs to be addressed before the author's proposal can be seriously considered.

Firstly, the author has mentioned that fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies during the past year than any other year and yet the percentage of positive reviews actually increased during the past year. Here, we need the data of how many people attended movies every year and past year and what is the percentage of positive reviews each year. If only a few people attended the past year then it might

be the case that 90% of them is also a small quantity and if many people attended other years then 30% of it is also a big quantity.

Secondly, the author has mentioned that the contents of the reviews are not reaching enough of prospective viewers. Here, the author assumes that this is the only reason why people are not aware of good movies. It might be the case that people are aware of these Super Screen movies but there are some new type of movies coming up in the market that has excited the people most and therefore people are and will prefer those new movies. The author also assumes that people only look for quality in the movie. A viewer can choose a movie based on many parameters like its content, entertainment, music, graphics.

Lastly, the author assumes that the trend which has been followed until now will follow in future years as well. It can be the case that in future

different types of movies might come up and even after many advertisements and publicity, still, there would be fewer people attending the Super Screen movies.

Hence, the author's proposal is not well thought through and is based on many unwarranted assumptions. The author of the argument needs to

look at the factors mentioned above else there will just wastage of time and money.