The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

While I disagree with the claim that the best way for society to prepare its young people for

leadership is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition, it is necessary to weigh its pros and cons. We also need to analyze some of the questions like what are the qualities of a leader and how a leader is made.

A leader is someone who stands for its group, who works for the betterment of the group and who represents that group. So firstly, a sense of cooperation is important in a leader. He should be attentive and understand the problems of its group and should be able to work towards it. He should work as a responsible person and help in finding ways to solve the problems.

Secondly, when there are many leaders in a community fighting for a cause, each leader should be able to compete with another in order to gain support for its group. For example, when are different industrial

leaders fighting for a single client, each of them should be able to represent its company and demonstrate its capabilities to acquire that client.

Also, the client will be happy to spend money on an industry whose leader is smart and has all required qualities. A person acquires knowledge through competition and can use it in his development and so a leader can.

When India was fighting for independence there were 2 major personalities that we Indians praise until now- Gandhiji and Bhagat Singh. Gandhiji is called a father of the nation and Bhagat Singh was a great leader.

Both fought for their country in different ways. Though both co-operated towards their country, Singh was able to compete

with the English men and hence is known as the leader.

Hence, in my opinion, to prepare young people for leadership in any field, competition and cooperation both are important. A leader needs to have all the qualities that can make him a true leader.