The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition

<span style="font-size: 19.36px;">"Teamwork means more we less me". This famous quote highlights the importance of cooperation aong team members to achieve better productivity. I mostly agree with the thesis that the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in any field is by instilling a sense of cooperation in them with certain cases where competition should be given more importance. To support my thesis, I would like to present the following three examples.

First of all, let us consider the case of set of employees working for the same team in the same organization. Every candidate has his/her own potential. The person can deliver his best to complete the task within time. Let us consider the case of 3 people working for a team and the quotients representing the potentials associated with each person be q1, q2, q3 (with q1 < q2 < q3). If they are given a task and asked to work on it independently, the best outcome would be delivered by a person with potential q3 and since time taken to complete the task is inversely proportional to q3, the task can be completed in 1/q3 hrs (assuming a constant 1). Now, if all three people work together for the same task dividing the work efficiently among themselves, and even if each person is delivering only 75 percent of his potential also, the time taken to complete the task would be 0.75/(q1+q2+q3). A research conducted by University of Cambridge has shown that the second term would be greater than the first at least 98 times out of 100. This clearly shows the importance/value of cooperation and is definitely necessary when people are working for a team.

Secondly, let us consider the example of manufacturing industry that involves import/export to/from different countries. For example, chain is good in produing electronic devices. Hence, with a good cooperation between countries people can export goods from China and reduce the costs involved in manufacturing and can happily rely on what they are currently good at. Consider the case of American Companies, who are good at Software Development. Most of American companies do get their hardware and raw materials required for manufacturing of products from China and they write their own software for the Laptops/Desktops/Mobiles they are manufacturing. This is only possible through a good cooperation between the countries.

However, there are exceptions to this concept of coperation. An Tug of War experiment conducted by a university between two teams yielded the following result. There is a competition between two persons. The persons are able to pull the rope from either ends with almost twice their natural average force they could exert on a object, thus showing that to get the best out of a single person competition is an important factor an this is the reason why Univerties have examinations to grade students.

In conclusion, it can be seen from above examples that the topic of cooperation vs competion in youth is a complex one andhas multiple answers. In general, it is true that cooperation has more importance over competion.</span><br>