In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

<span style="font-family: &quot;Open Sans&quot;, arial, sans-serif; font-size: 16px; white-space: normal;">In the above argument author states that allocation more budget to clean Mason River would increase the river use for recreational activities. The author came to this conclusion based on the fact that water sports being the residents' favorite recreational activites. However, before this recommendation can be evaluated following assumptions must be examined.</span><br style="box-sizing: border-box; font-family: &quot;Open Sans&quot;, arial, sans-serif; font-size: 16px; white-space: normal;"><br style="box-sizing: border-box; font-family: &quot;Open Sans&quot;, arial, sans-serif; font-size: 16px; white-space: normal;"><br style="box-sizing: border-box; font-family: &quot;Open Sans&quot;, arial, sans-serif; font-size: 16px; white-space: normal;"><br style="box-sizing: border-box; font-family: &quot;Open Sans&quot;, arial, sans-serif; font-size: 16px; white-space: normal;"><span style="font-family: &quot;Open Sans&quot;, arial, sans-serif; font-size: 16px; white-space: normal;">First of all, it is stated that water sports such as swimming, boating and fishing are the favorite recreational activities of the residents. But, even after allocating more budget to the river side is there any guarantee that people will still do these river side activities. For example, Tennis is one of my favorite recreational activity. But, I am not able to play it because the sport is expensive, I need to book a ground and pay humongous amount to do my recreational activity. This means even if there is a chance to pursue recreational activity I cannot because of my financial restrictions. If the above scenario holds true even in case of Mason City people, the argument stated by author doesn not hold water.</span><br style="box-sizing: border-box; font-family: &quot;Open Sans&quot;, arial, sans-serif; font-size: 16px; white-space: normal;"><br style="box-sizing: border-box; font-family: &quot;Open Sans&quot;, arial, sans-serif; font-size: 16px; white-space: normal;"><br style="box-sizing: border-box; font-family: &quot;Open Sans&quot;, arial, sans-serif; font-size: 16px; white-space: normal;"><br style="box-sizing: border-box; font-family: &quot;Open Sans&quot;, arial, sans-serif; font-size: 16px; white-space: normal;"><span style="font-family: &quot;Open Sans&quot;, arial, sans-serif; font-size: 16px; white-space: normal;">Secondly, it is given that government should devote more money to riverside recreational facitlites. There is no evidence on why government has ignored this all these days. There can be other important problems in the country which government is primarily concentrating on and hence had to subside this thought to give the important ones more priority. For example, the traffic system in Mason City might be really bad and government must be spending more of its money to construction of flyovers so as to provide free flowing of vehicles. Also, if the city's sanitational facilities are utterly worse then that becomes the primary task to concentrate on, because it is a basic need. If the above scenario is true for Mason City then the recommendation suggested by author is not viable at this moment.</span><br style="box-sizing: border-box; font-family: &quot;Open Sans&quot;, arial, sans-serif; font-size: 16px; white-space: normal;"><br style="box-sizing: border-box; font-family: &quot;Open Sans&quot;, arial, sans-serif; font-size: 16px; white-space: normal;"><br style="box-sizing: border-box; font-family: &quot;Open Sans&quot;, arial, sans-serif; font-size: 16px; white-space: normal;"><br style="box-sizing: border-box; font-family: &quot;Open Sans&quot;, arial, sans-serif; font-size: 16px; white-space: normal;"><span style="font-family: &quot;Open Sans&quot;, arial, sans-serif; font-size: 16px; white-space: normal;">Additionally, it is given that government should devote more money to fulfill the hobbies of residents. There is no evidence provided that the government is genuine.</span><br style="box-sizing: border-box; font-family: &quot;Open Sans&quot;, arial, sans-serif; font-size: 16px; white-space: normal;"><br style="box-sizing: border-box; font-family: &quot;Open Sans&quot;, arial, sans-serif; font-size: 16px; white-space: normal;"><br style="box-sizing: border-box; font-family: &quot;Open Sans&quot;, arial, sans-serif; font-size: 16px; white-space: normal;"><br style="box-sizing: border-box; font-family: &quot;Open Sans&quot;, arial, sans-serif; font-size: 16px; white-space: normal;"><span style="font-family: &quot;Open Sans&quot;, arial, sans-serif; font-size: 16px; white-space: normal;">In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considerable flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the survey addresses the above assumptions by providing more supportive evidences (perhaps in form of systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of proposed recommendation.</span>