The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition

A society is the agglomeration of its people with different religion, race, traditions and cultures. The future of a society is dependent on the youngest generation and the values which are taught to them. I agree with the assertion made in the prompt that the best way to preapre the young is by teaching them the value of cooperation and not completion.

The young generation of a society is at a juncture in their life where they can be molded into respected and valued leaders if they are provided the right guidance and shown the correct path by their elders. A leader are the pivot of any organization or country and play a crucial role in its flourishment or deterioration. One of the most valued quality of a leader can be the skill to negotiate and cooperate with others whether it be a business transaction or a policy debate. Leaders who value cooperation are less prone too overreaching and destructive tendencies and take decisions which are in the best interest of the organization. Consider the example of Steve jobs, one of the most competitive leader of the 21st century. In 1997, when apple was suffering huge amount of loss and was at the verge of bankruptcy, he startled everyone by making a deal with bill gates, the ceo of Microsoft, the rival of apple. If Steve jobs had not set aside his competitive nature and made the deal with gates, apple might not have survived to be the present behemoth it is. Hence, the most valuable quality which we must teach our young is the ability to cooperate.

In today's world where we have leaders of different countries representing different cultures, traditions and societal ideologies, it has become very important that they cooperate with each other to solve the growing problems of the world and not get bogged down in the sense of competition which is human nature. One of the biggest challenges facing the human kind is the global warming and climate change, which requires different countries to work together and find a cure to the problem but alas the sense of competition hinders them.

However, a sense of competition is human nature and is useful as it allows us to become more productive and efficient in our task. The sense of competition gives us a goal of surpassing others and rising to the top. We must teach our young a sense of healthy competition and teach them when to set aside the sense of competition and cooperate to achieve the higher goal.