The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and argument on which its is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director here, claims that eventhough the quality of the movies produced have not deteriorated, the number indiviuals that are going to movie theatres to watch these movies has. He bases this arguments on the fact that the percentage of positive movie reviews has increased and thus concludes that there is a lack of awareness in the public that movies of good quality are available. Hence, the director wants the organization to allocate a greater share of its budget to advertising to create awareness. Eventhough this claim may be viable it may have loopholes.

Firstly, the claim that people are not attending Super Screen produced movies because of lack of awareness of the quality of the movies is not justified. People may be reluctant to go to movie theatres due to the emmergence of online streaming platforms where they can watch these movies at the comfort of their homes. Not going to movie theatres may also be due to the high price of movie tickets and the strict restrictions on carrying eatables into movie theatres, etc. Rather, people would want to stay at home and not go through the traffic to reach movie theatres, eventhough it means watching the movie later when it is available on the streaming platform.

The director also claims that percentage of positive movie reviews of "specific" movies has gone up. The specific movies might be scattered with many not so good movies in between them and hence would create an image that the movies produced are not always up to the mark. The percentage also does not give a good indication of how much is the increase in these positive reviews.

The director also wants Super Screen to allocate a greater share of their budget to advertising for increasing the reach of how good the movies are. It is not mentioned if the current advertisements are inadequate or not. The fact that poeple are not coming to attend the movies does not mean thta they do not know about how good they are. The advertisements may be good enough to serve their purpose but the people might be making a decision on their own of opting not to attend the movies. Also, a bigger budget would not mean that the quality of the advertisements would become better than they were and would hence result in a waste ofthe budget which could be rather used to still improve movie quality. Hence, allocating a larger budget share might not increase the number of movie attendees.

Therefore, the claims of the director might be correct to some extent but there is no conclusive evidence that the measure suggested to increase the number of movie attendees might be effective.