The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

According to a recent report by our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the last year. Clearly, the content of these reviews is not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not in the quality of our movies but with public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater quantity of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.

The author of the argument failed to convince us that The super Screen Movie production company should allocate a great deal of share of its budget next year for advertising. The argument, as it stands, is based on questionable assumptions and a faulty line of reasoning, a fact that renders it over-simplistic and unconvincing.

Firstly, the arguer mentions a recent report that provides evidence that the percentage of people attended the movies was less than any other year. At first, it may sound convincing, but it is not. Other factors may have a voice in this issue. First of all, what if the report was wrong? Or even the people who gathered the necessary information made a mistake? the fact that the author fails to provide detailed information about the report renders it necessary to question his/her assertion. It is stated that fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies, but the author does not mention to what extent they were less. What if last year a thousand people attended the company's movies but this year only 999 people attended. The used term is vague and thus unconvincing. If the author had provided more scrutiny and detailed about the report, the argument would have been more strengthened.

Next, the author made a flimsy assumption about the contents and the quality of the movies, produced by the company. to elaborate on, the author mentions that reviews are positive about specific movies, but the contents are not reaching to viewers. A huge conclusion is made based on little evidence. To elucidate on, the author mentions "specific" movies. What if those movies are not the ones that suit the majority of viewers interests? What if the reviews are not about the quality of the movies, but the plot of the screen and the general story behind it? With the advance of the media in the last decades, the accessibility to all kinds of information about a subject has been much easier. Therefore, it is hard to believe that the information or the reviews about a specific movie would not reach the viewers in time. in addition, What if the contents of the movies had become obscene to the viewers in the past year? Therefore fewer people are inclined to such movies. If the arguer had included more detail and information about the reviews or the contents, the argument would have been more consolidated.

Last, the author concludes that more budget should be allocated to the advertising of the movies. It is acceptable that proper advertising helps the company to thrive and increases the viewers. But making such a big conclusion based on little information is all but faulty. When making decisions, one has to determine all other factors, with a systematic and a general scope. Simply put, other coincidences, economic welfare of people, political issues in the society, all have a voice in such fluctuations. Therefore, one has to view such a phenomena from different angles to come up with a conclusion. If the argument had included other factors mentioned, it would have been more sound and promising.

All in all, based on substantial assumptions and poor evidence, the arguer's reasoning fails to provide concrete support for his/her conclusion. If the argument had included the items discussed, it would have been m