The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production company suggests to allocate a greater share of its budget to advertising as fewer people attented the movies during the past year. This recommendation is based on his reasoning that since specific Super Screen Movies had high ratings, the reason the production company saw less viewers is a lack of advertisment. Although this argument has merit, there are several flaws in the advertising director's logic and several factors must be analyzed before applying this recommendation.

Firstly, the advertising director is relying on the assumption that the reason there are fewer views is because the high reviews have not reached the greater public. It would be beneficial if the director provided more information regarding their previous advertising statistics. For instance, what percentage of prospective movie-goers saw the movie reviews last year, compared to the year before that? If the director said, during the past year, the high reviews reached 50% of prospective viewers, compared to the year before that, where the high reviews reached 85% of prosective viewers, his argument for a greater advertising budget would be more sound.

Further, the advertising director mentions that the reduction in movie attendences are not due to the quality of movies since specific Super Screen movies had a higher percentage of reviews. This language the director uses to decribe this fact is very vague and can be interpreted numerous ways. By how much did this percentage increase? 1-2% of an increase may by marginal, while a 50-60% incresae would have a more significant response. Further, the director does not mention the percentage of negative reviews recieved. The overall amount of reviews could have increased dramatically, thus increasing the number of positive and negative reviews. A high number of negative reviews could have contributed to the lack of movie attendees this last year, and thus the problem is in fact the quality of Super Screen produced movies, not advertising.

Moreover, there are several other factors that could have effected the rate of movie-goers in the past year. For example, say a large parking lot near the theather is now under construction to build new high rise condos. Now movie-goers have no parking, and therefore, are disinclined to go see new movies. This argument would be more compelling if the author provided more information on other plausible factors that could contribute to the rate of movie-goers. It would be beneficial to know if these factors are constant or not.

Before applying his recommendation of allocating a greater budget to advertising, the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company should complete more research. His recommendation relies on too many unwarrented assumptions that could be the demise of his company. Specifically, the advertising director should review the companies attendence and advertising statistics, as well as any other confounding variable that may have contributed to the lack of movie-goers.