"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the preceding statement, the author claims that in the past year only a handful of people attended the Super-screen produced movie as reported by marketing department. But the positive review provided by the reviewers were increased during the past years. Author also claims that the good reviews are not reaching their viewers. The issue is not with the quality of the movie but the lack of awarness of the people that there are good quality of movies available in the market. Author also convey that super screen should also increase their budget for promotions. Though his claim may well have merit, author presents a poorly reasoned argument and based solely on the evidence, we cannot accept his argument valid.

The primary issue with the author's reasoning lies in his unsubstantiated premises. Author conveyed that fewer people attended the super-screen compare to previous year but on the other hand the reviews were good and positive but we are not clear that on which movie the critics gave their review. Author just mentioned that review were given on "specific super screen movie". It can be assumed that the critics reviewed different movies and the people attended different. The movie which the people watched was not up to the point and yet the critics does't reviewed it till now.

It was also not cleared that what age group is watching which genre of movie. for example middle age or old people would not like to watch marvel movie or the young generation will not be happy to watch classic movies.

While the author does not have several key issues in his argument's premises and assumptions, that is not to say that the whole argument is without base. Author should mention the name of the movies which got good and potential reviews and should also describe the name of the movie in which fewer audience were scene. This will give enough clarity to the argument. Though there are several issue with the author's reasoning at present, with research and clarifications, he could improve his argument significantly.

In sum, the author's illogical argument is based in the unsupported premises and unsubstantiated assumptions that render his conclusion invalid. The author need to give more clarity of the movie name, what type of audience are watching the movie, what is the genre of that movie etc. If the author truly wants to change the readers mind on the issue, he would have to largely restructure his argument.