The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument is based on a number of assumptions, if these are not addressed or confirmed, it will not be reasonable for Super Screen Movie Production Company to allocate a greater share of its budget on advertising.

The increase in the percentage of positive reviews about specific Super Screen movies is assumed to be a good metric for the quality of Super Screen movies. Fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies in the past year which could mean that the higher percentage was as a result of the presence of people willing to give a review attending. For instance, if two out of two hundred people who attended the movies two years ago gave positive reviews and the same two people attended with hundred other people in the past year, the percentage of positive reviews increased but this is in no way an indication of the quality of the movies.

Super Screen has done no survey to investigate why fewer people attended its movies in the past year. However, it is boldly assumed that the problem does not lie with the quality of the movies but with the public's lack of awareness of the availability of movies of good quality solely because of the increase in the percentage of positive reviews. In contrast to this, some people could have stopped attending the movies because the quality of the movies dropped or because of the price of the tickets. Super Screen needs to know exactly why some people stopped attending its movies.

Also, will increasing the budget for advertising make more people attend Super Screen movies? The only thing certain is that more people will be aware of the movies of good quality Super screen produces but is advertising the solution to the problem? As stated earlier, there may be other reasons people stopped attending Super Screen movies and if these are not addressed advertising will not change anything.

Superscreen must also figure out the financial implication of increasing the share of its budget for advertising. Will that not affect how much money is left for movie production? Which should be a priority for the company. All these questions must be answered before the decision is made.