The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The youth are very instrumental to the progress of their immediate environment and country at large. Children in schools are instilled with a sense of competition. Every child wants to top the class, win every sprint race, win every debate, win awards, etc. The pressure from parents and the system makes them very intentional in being better than their peers to be considered successful and be celebrated. Growing up with this mentality only can be detrimental to their success in the industries or fields they find themselves in.

It takes a group of people to make changes in the government. The executive, judiciary, and legislative arms of governments work together to ensure that the nation is progressing and is safe for its citizens. For instance, the president of the United States of America can not make certain decisions alone, the senate and other government bodies must approve the decisions in the interest of the people. Even in universities, cooperation drives the progress of societies and groups.

Although, it is also important to state that competition is almost as important as cooperation because people must compete for positions in government. The essence of elections is competing and bringing one's best foot forward. Young people must be prepared to compete and learn that things won't be given to them easily

In addition to this, people do not work alone in companies, they work with a team of people. Young people who always want to compete will always be concerned about their success rather than the success of the team. Parents, schools, and everyone in society need to teach children the importance of cooperation because of this. Companies do not hire people who can not cooperate with team members.

However, people have to compete to get jobs in the first place. For example, some big companies like Chevron, Facebook, Apple, etc. give thousands of applicants assessments and tests before hiring a few of them. The labor market is extremely competitive, there are fewer jobs available than people in the market. Graduates must have a sense of cooperation but must also be prepared to compete to get jobs and earn a living.