The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo, the advertising director of Super Screen Movie Production Company avers that the company should appropriate a larger chunk of its next years budget into advertising. He bases this recommendation on the report of an increase in the percentage of positive reviews received by the company in the past year. However, while the conclusion may seem to hold water, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness and cogency of the argument. Thus, in order to fully examine the recommendation. the following three questions must be addressed.

First of all, was the recent report representative of people who attended the movies? That is, can the result of report be proven as germane to the author's conclusion? Perhaps the majority of people who attended the movies did not like it and were too shy to make their comments known publicly. It is also possible that the report is itself a fabrication by the marketing department. The survey could have been conducted by only using the department's staff as its contributors in a bid to increase the finances allocated to them rather than improve the overall visibility of the organization. If any of these cases proves true, the director's argument will be significantly weakened.

Secondly, what if there are other causes to the decline in attendance of the movies? Perhaps the content of the movies are not relevant to potential viewers. The populace may be very aware of the shows and still choose not to attend because they are not interested in them. It is also possible that the cost of seeing a Super Screen movie is just too high for a humble working class person to even consider. In the scenario where these prove likely, the author's argument loses its hold.

Finally, even if all the above are not true and more money is invested in advertising, is it given that more viewers will come see a movie? It may be possible that there is an alternative movie company nearby that has attracted and retained many viewers. An increase in visibility may not do much for Share Screen company. It is also possible that the theatres the company sells to are not situated in popular regions around that state. Viewers will be less likely to spend so much time going to an unknown venue even for a well-advertised movie. Provided any of these scenarios has merit, the director's argument is left significantly hampered.

In conclusion, albeit the directors contention may have some merit as regards a possible increase in the advertising budget, more data (preferably in the form of a parametric research study) will be required for a firm conclusion to be reached. Provided the author is able to answer the three questions posed above, then, it will be possible to fully evaluate the argument.