The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo of the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company, it is stated that the reason for fewer people attending their movies this year than any other year is due to the public not being aware that movies of good quality are available. In conclusion, decided to allocate a greater share of its budget next year to the advertising department to increase their reach in public. However, the conclusion is drawn by the author based on the following assumption which if not substantiated would dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument.

Firstly, Is the report made by the marketing team valid? How is the report made? For instance, last year when the people have attended the movie were interested in watching the movie but have not liked the movie and could have given negative reviews now this year the number of people interested in the movie might have decreased but the people who have attended might have like the movie and gave a positive review instead of negative reviews like the previous time. If either of the cases stands true then the author's conclusion might not hold water.

Secondly, it is stated that despite the increase in percentage of positive reviews the number of people who have attended the movie has decreased as compared to the last year. This might be due to the fact that even after the advertising that they did this year they might have been able to grasp the attention of fewer people and these few people who are interested only could have attended the movie in the theatres and could have given a positive review as they were interested in the movie. If the above case is true then the persuasiveness of the author's conclusion is weakened.

Lastly, as it is stated in the argument even if they consider the movie of being good quality. On what basis is this conclusion being made? Just with the increase in the number of positive reviews, we cannot judge the quality of a movie as it stands on many factors. If

In conclusion, the argument taken from the memo of the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company might be true. However, as it stands now the conclusion made stands on several unfounded assumptions which need further evidence for the conclusion to be persuasive.