The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The Argument presented by the director of the Super Screen Movie is flawed because it is based on a number of unwarranted assumptions. If this assumption do not hold true then the argument totally falls apart and so the recommendation.

Firstly, the director assumes that the report presented by the marketing team is relaible but he did not provide any evidence to support the authenticity and validity of the report. Furthermore no statistics is provided about the report such as the people attended the Super Screen-produced movies in the last year and other years because statistical figure is important to know whether the decrease was significant or not for example may be this year the number was 2500 in the previous years it was around 2600, so this is not a significant decrease. These statistical figure needs to provided to make any conclusion.

Secondly, the director assumes that the reason for the decrease in the number of peolpe attending the movies is the lack of awarenes among the people about the quality of movie. It is a hasty conclusion because without any study or survey, making a conclusion about the reason is fallacious. It is highly possible that there are other factor which resulted in the decrease such as cost of ticket, traffic condition around the theatres, infrastructure issue etc. Hence before making this conclusion if the director would have provided the details of any survey then it would have strengthen the argument.

Finally, the author recommend that Super Screen should alocate a greater shareof its budget on advertising but he did not provided any statsticals figure or evidence that the advertising will ameliorate the condition. As mentioned above if the assumed creason for the decrease in number of people do not hold true than putting more budget on advertising will not help and it will increase the cost of production and hence the rise in cost of the movie ticket which will execerbate the situation.

So as mentioned above the director has made a number of unstated assumptions which lacks evidence. Hence if the assumption do not hold true the recommendation will be prone to error. If director provide the details about the above questions then the argument would have been more persuasive.