The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The directors investment in advertisement due the assumption of lack of good quality movie awareness in people does not make for a cogent case.

While it is true that advertisement in most cases is advantageous but allocating a greater percent of the budget on it should involve greater usage of statistics and historical data.

The recent report from the marketing department suggest that their has been a decline in audience but that could easily be for a myriad different reasons apart form the fact that people do not have awareness of good movies. There could be a time of recession where inflation is high and thus fewer people can afford watching movies. It is also possible that a more popular production company had opened in the past year, stealing Super Screen Movies's customers. It is also not accurate to take a budget decision based on just one annual year.

The director also believes the positive reviews to be a significant determinant in making his assumptions,however the percentage of good reviews could have easily increased as the total audience has declined. It does not mean that people on an average liked the content of the movies. The details have thus been taken on a face value and have not been scaled.

It is also possible that their has been a decline in audience as the production company's idea of 'good quality' movie probably differs from that of the local audiences.