The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The memo presented from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company states that there is a decrease if the attendance of the people during past year. The argument states that even though the reviews by the reviewers about the specific Super Screen Production Movies has increased but have not reached the correct amount of prospet viewers, this statement clearly indicates the plethora of assumptions that have been take for granted by the author. Without providing any specifics about the survey developing such arguments is completely unwarranted and if these assumptions are not addresses then the complete argument falls apart.

The author mentions that viewers have decreased in comparision to part year but he fails to mention the trend that is being followed by the viewers of Super Screen Movies. Author has also not mention any thing about the places where the survey was conducted, weather it was a country wide survey or it was specific to a perticualar location. Even if we assume that the survey conducted was nation wide there is no mention of results of previous surveys, even there is no mention that if there was ever any survey conducted by Super Screen Movies Prodcution Company. It is certainly possible that they might have conducted the survey for the first time and have no clue no how to derive results from the survey.

Author also fails to mention anything about how the survey was conducted and how many people took part in it. Since there is no mention of place and time of survey, it is also possible that the survey was conducted when there was no myriad number of movies were produced by the Super Screen Movies. If in past year there were only a few movies produced by the Super Screen Movies than it is inevitable to retain same number of viewers. There is also no metion of what kind of movies were produced by the Super Screen Movies, as they might have shifted from producing Super hero movies to romantic movies or more of literary and conventioanl movies. All these aspects have not been addresses in the argument which makes the compete conclusion of the argument specious. There is also no mention of how many of threaters were readly playing the movies produced by the Super Screen Movies. There are chances that the survey conducted was in locations where there was hegmony of movies by some other producer.

Since the trend of past several years is not given then thus the numbers stated by the survey could have been more spurious, as if the viewers might have decreased compared to past years but could have been significantly higher whn compared to 2-3 years back. Author also states that the number of reviews by the reviewers have increased on specific Super Screen Movies but it doesn't imply that the production quality have increased or the movies were actually good. The increase can also be because of just a specific group of people who reviewed those movies this year which they would have not reviewed in several past years. There can be an improvement in the techonology because of which the people might have reviewed it more, there is also no reference to which the number of reviews have increased. It can also be possible that the movies produced were so bad that people even didn't bothered to give a bad review, or the it can be possible that the reviewing procedure could have been very tedious that people didn't bother to review the movies.

Thus, it is clear that until all the aforementioned assumptions are not answered, actions taken on any conclusions drawn from the argument will eventually lead to losses for the company. If author would have taken the above mentioned assumptions in the argument and might have provided concrete evidences than the argument would have been more assertive and credible. Hence the allocation of huge budgets to the publivity event would result as a futile act and not be considered for pragmatic purposes.