The following is taken from a memo from the advertising

director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department,

during the past year, fewer people attended Super

Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the

percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about

specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past

year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching

enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not

with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of

awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super

Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget

next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions

would need to be answered in order to decide whether the

recommendation and the argument on which it is based are

reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these

questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument of the author that the Super Screen should allocate the more share of its budget on next year for the advertising for publicity is flawed. The author draws tha conclusion not only on the vaugue and the ambigiuous words but also the author has failed to calculate tha statical data before making the conclusion.

To begin the conclusion, the author have used the vague and ambigious words like "fewer", "increased" to describe the number of people attending the Super Screen-produced movies and the positive reviews by the viewers respectively. On doing so,the author has failed to address tyhe what percent of the positive reviews has been increased during the pasrt year. There wouldnot be any meaning on the positive review by increasing the just 1% and the movie viewers decreased by more than 50%.

Secondly, there might the positive reviews from the minority of the movie viewers who were reviewing the Super Screen-produced movies. In addition to this, majority of the movie viewers might have neglected to review the movie as the movie was too bad to be reviewed. The increasing positive reviews would not provide sufficient reason to justify the conclusion.

The Conclusion might been bolstered if the above mentioned flaws had been adressed properly. As stated earlier, the author's argument is flawed.