The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise.

Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The following argument, which says that the jazz music club in Monroe would become an extremely profitable eneterprise in based on a lot of assumptions and considerations.

The argument states that the nearest jazz club, C-Note is 65 miles away and the local market will be wholly captured by this jazz club. The statement assumes that C-Note is the only jazz club in Monroe. There can be many jazz clubs in Monroe other than C-Note which are as good as C-Note and there can be a certain set of people who like those jazz clubs. The statement also assumes the fact that all the people of Monroe have a liking for jazz music, there can be a bunch of music lovers who love music of different genres like classical, rap, pop and so on.

The argument further states that jazz is extremely popular in Monroe on the basis of the fact that 100,000 people attended the Monroe's annual jazz festival. Here, unless and until the reader is not known to exact population of Monroe, the number 100,000 cannot be considered as a huge number. The argument also states that several well known jazz musicians stay in Monroe. This statement doesn't clearly justify the popularity of Jazz in Monroe, as Monroe can be a place where the jazz musicians find it cheap to stay or there can be various resources in Monroe where they can practice their instruments better than other places. Also, the word 'several' is a generalized word and doesn't justify the exact number.

Further the argument says that the 'Jazz Nightly' is the highest rated radio show in Monroe. Here, it is assumed that the rating given to the radio show is given by each and every person in Monroe. It can be the case only the jazz lovers in Monroe have given the rating to the show and the non jazz lovers didn't bother giving a rating to the show. This doesn't clearly state the extent to which people in Monroe love jazz.

The argument concludes by stating that the nationwide survey says that jazz fans spend $1000 dollar a year in jazz entertainment. Here, the survey is done nation wide and is not specific to Monroe. There can be the case there is a majority of jazz lovers outside Monroe who love jazz as compared to that in Monroe. Also, the argument haven't specified the average spending of a jazz lover in jazz enetertainment which makes the number $1000 questionable as to how big are small this number is.

Thus, the following argument is based on tons of assumptions and have fallen short of providing necessary details. Thus, it cannot be surely said that C-note will turn out to a profitable enterprise.