The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The excerpt from the application for a small business loan claims a high popularity of Jazz in the city of Monroe. The authors argument does seem probable, and a jazz music club in the city might be profitable, but it will be too naive to back on the limited evidence that the author has provided. The statements needs to be examined closely in light of all factors that might affect the assumed profitable enterprise.

Firstly, the developers talk about the jazz enterprise being profitable in the area of Monroe due to remoteness of other jazz clubs. However, the author does not discuss about the market status of Monroe. It is worthy of remark to consider the number of musical clubs already in the area. A survey which tells the musical preference of the residents of Monroe might come in handy; statistical figures like the number of attendees in musical clubs on Jazz nights on weekly basis; the proposed expenditure along with expected footfall should be looked at.

The author continues to give evidence to back the popularity of jazz in Monroe. It may well be that popular in Monroe but is certainly questionable. Irrespective of how many people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival, it will be important to consider the number of attendess in other similar festivals like the rock or pop festival. It might be true that residents of Monroe like jazz, but it important to answer if Jazz is the first preference amongst the residents, when given an option between several genres. Authors claim that several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe, this might act as a catalyst for C-Note, once it has opened, but it is not a substantial argument to prove the popularity of jazz in Monroe. Added to that, author claims that Jazz Nightly is the highest rated radio program, but does not give empirical data for the same. Questions remain unanswered : How many people still listen to radio? How many listeners are there for Jazz Nightly and other programs? It might be very well possible that Jazz Nightly has the highest rating due to, the time it has been allocated, which is the peak traffic hour and has a lot of listeners.

Additionally, the developers talk about close to a thousand dollars being spent on jazz entertainment. The study for this data is a nationwide study, what is required is a more focussed local survey. A survey which tells about the average expenditure on recreation, on musical entertainment, on other geners would be considered apt for such an argument.

A jazz club in Monroe might be profitable, but only when all the aspects are considered, musical preference of residents is known; marketing and budget is discussed; and a local survey backing all the claims. To conclude, the developers argument seems probable, but a more detailed study, a thorough market research needs to be done before trying to venture into such an enterprise. Other more well researched options can prove to be a better success like a fusion of two most liked genres of the residents on the basis of a survey or hosting Jazz nights in different clubs of the area on a pro-partnership basis.