The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author is trying to convince the authority responsible for sanctioning loans in the bank. The argument

is an attempt to try and convinince the respective authority to grannt him a loan, but there are

many unanswered question whose answer might be convincing enough to not approve the loan application.

How much is the population of Monroe? If it is the capital of the country, then 100,000 is a very small

fraction of it if the author wants to generalize that majority of the citizens of Monroe are passionate

about jazz.On what basis was the radio show rated? Is the rating based solely on number of people

listening to the radio statio? For example, if the show happens on weekends and at prime timings such as 21:00 hrs

or 9:00 hrs, then it is very likely that large number of people will betunining to the radio station as compared to

other shows that might be interesting but might be on weekdays and at odd timings. Therefore the authors

generaliztaion is very vague.

How many well known jazz artisits own their house in Monroe?What might be other reasons for persuading

them to buy a house in the city of Monroe? Do they even stay in these houses? Because only a fraction of

the popular jazz artists might have bought the houses. There may be other reasons too for buying property

in Monroe, for instance the houses might be their holiday-homes. Or it might be a good investment option

because the property rates are predicted to increase as many new industries would be setting up

manufacturing plant in the region nearby Monroe. Hence the corelation between owning property in Monroe

and the love for jazz of its residents can lead to incorrect conclusions.

When was the study taken? Who were the participants? Who were the participants? What was the age group of

section of people who were interested in jazz? What did the fans spend $1000 on? Are they even interested

in attending music shows? Beacuse with the advent of new technology, people might be buying songs from

online websites and might be listening music on their smartphones or I-pods/ Walkmans and not like attending

shows because the nearest music club is in a different town and is thus very far.It is also possible

that the study was taken 20 years back and now the liking of music styles might have changed.For example,

currently EDM(Electronic Dance and Music) is the most popular music style in my country of residence

and very small sections of society are still intrigued by jazz.

Hence the author needs to answer so many other questions before even thinking of applying for loans.

These questions need to be answered well before thinking of establishing a music Thus the generalization

made by author regarding the taste of music of citizens of Monroe might misleading and the venture couldd

lead in severe loses and he might even not be able to repay the loans taken by him.