GRE Argument essay

As evidenced in the letter designated to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine, manned space flight is opined to be less favourable than unmanned space flight. However, there were some assumptions on which this opinion was premised, which will be looked into to determine if such an assertion is worthy or not.

Firstly, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites could be as a result of several factors not known to us.

That unmanned space flight is argued to be cost-effective and less dangerous does not in any way makes it advantageous over manned space flight. The gathering of information that is costly does not translate to a particular type of flight being unsuccessful.

Secondly, the recent success of an unmanned space flight does not expose us to any information as to whether the trip was a short or long one, so as to make an objective comparison with a manned space trip. An unmanned space trip being successful on the short-distance trip, for instance, does not automatically indicates that it will always be successful on all other distances of trips.

Thirdly, the fact that the unmanned space trip was successful does not mean that the cost and risk of a manned space trip are overly associated with sending men and women into space.

Additionally, that the unmanned space flight was successful is not a green light for the investment of resources in unmanned space flight. This is largely because the success of the trip at a particular point in time might not translate to n automatic success every time. For example, in 2021, a space trip of the same calculated costs and risk was made in the first month (January) and the third month (March). The space trip for January was a landmark and obviously, it inspired the trip for March, unfortunately, the second trip was unsuccessful. This shows that there are more to a success of a space flight trip than just focusing on if it is manned or unmanned.

Conclusively, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites does not suggest that we should direct all our resources to unmanned space flights. Thereby, this argument is misleading and could result in regrets if acted upon.