Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

One of the important characteristics of an effective leader is the possession of a sound moral judgement. However, the most important characteristic of an effective leader is to maintain the respect of his or her pears, as discussed below. Respect is reciprocal and any leader who shows respect to his or her peers, will also get the same level of respect in return if not more. For example, during the reign of Barack Obama as the president of the United States of America, he was widely respected by the citizens of America and those in his cabinet as a result of a display of respect to a boy below his age at a public gathering. Barack Obama, irrespective of his status, greeted everyone he came across including this particular young boy and this singular act made the Americans revered him. One of the most effective way of succeeding as a leader is to encourage participation during your reign. The best way to bring about participation is to portray respect as a characteristics. In Venezuela, a governor of a state declared that every individual irrespective of the age group or gender is welcome on board to contribute to the affairs of the state. This brought about a major boost in the political participation of the people as they cherished such a humble act from the governor. Although, many people will argue that having a sound moral judgement is the best characteristic to possess for an effective leader. This is quite true but having respect for others is a type of sound moral judgement in itself. Therefore, having a sound moral judgement is not as crucial as maintaining respect with his or her peers as a leader. Conclusively, the ability of a leader to maintain respect is a highly effective trait than any other characteristics including sound moral judgement.