If the paper from every morning edition of the nation’s largest newspaper were collected and rendered into paper pulp that the newspaper could reuse, about 5 million trees would be saved each year. This kind of recycling is unnecessary, however, since the newspaper maintains its own forests to ensure an uninterrupted supply of paper

The author of this editorial expresses opinion that the local newspaper doesn't need to be concerned about recycling because it maintains its own forest.

On the surface, this appear a reasonable point of fview. The local newspaper is acting responsibly by managing its own forest rather than cause deforestation in other places. The argument lacks evidence to support it.

First, the author states that newspaper manteins its own forest to ensure an interrupted supply of paper. This assumes that there will be no natural catastrophes such as hurricanes, forest fires and tsunami that could be destroy the forest. If the forest were wiped out, the newspaper would not have other source of paper to print its daily morning nwespaper.

As an alternative the newspaper could print on recicled paper making the act of recycling very useful. If the author provide evidence that the forest is allocated in a secure geographical aerea with minimal natural disaster or provide evidence the newsapeper had a back up forest as a source for their forest could not provide paper for their newspaper, his argument could be strenghten.

Second, the author states that the newspaper has a source of paper for the daily edition of the paper. This argument ignores any enviromental impact that many argue that are necessary, especially if 5 million trees are saved each year. If the author provided evidence that 5 million tree per years was environmental insignifican, his argument would be streghten.

In conclusion, because the argument is based on flawed assumptions, is not possible to prove that recycling is unnecessary. The author did not give enough information that its source of paper is stable or that the environmental impact of recycling are irrelevant.