If the paper from every morning edition of the nation’s largest newspaper were collected and rendered into paper pulp that the newspaper could reuse, about 5 million trees would be saved each year. This kind of recycling is unnecessary, however, since the newspaper maintains its own forests to ensure an uninterrupted supply of paper

The author of the argument has concluded that since trends show that coffee is being consumed at a higher rate than cola, the investors should move their investments from Cola Loca to Early Bird Company. To provide support to his conclusion the author refers to a survey about which we are given very little information with respect to whom the source and the participants were. While the author's argument has some merit, it contains a number of questionable assumptions and leaves out a number of important issues that need to be addressed in order to substantiate the argument.

Most conspicuously, the author refers to "studies" in order to prove his claims about the trends in consumption of coffee and cola products respectively. But the author does not address the issues such as who the sources of these studies are nor who were the people who were surveyed. The author also does not give any information about the total number of respondents in these studies or what alll questions were asked in them. Consider, for instance, if the survey was done by a PR firm hired by a coffee making company, then the argument would be weakened. Thus, the author should clearly provide us with appropriate materials describing the nature, source and content of these surveys. Without doing so, the author leaves the door too far wide open for any objective individual to make his or her own conclusion about the author's claim. Since these studies form the basis of author's whole argument, he or she needs to clear all doubts regarding its authenticity by providing complete details about them.

Additionally, the author seems to make a correlation between the indications of the survey and investing in Cola Loca or Early Bird Coffee Company. But this is a clear case of making false cause fallacy, without providing any substantial evidence to prove the claim. The author has left too many questions unanswered. For example, is the financial status of these two companies comparable? What is the respective size of these two companies? Is the author adovacating for making a medium term or a long term investment? What will happen to the share prices in the short term? Without, decisive answers to these questions, one is left with the impression that the claim is more wishful thinking than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the author's argument is neither compelling nor persuasive. Because the argument omits several key concerns, it is poorly supported. If the author had backed up his or her points with conclusive evidence and included the items discussed above, the argument would have been more thorough and thus convincing.