An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author recommends that the government of Tagus should promote a new type of millet to fight against vitamin A deficiency among people of Tagus. The author offers two pieces of evidence to support the argument. First, the new breed of millet has high vitamin A content. Secondly, millet is already a staple food in Tagus thus they will easily embrace the new variety. However, the argument makes several assumptions which if don't hold would render the argument invalid. In the rest of this essay, the assumptions and the question that needs to be answered to evaluate the argument are discussed.

The most important flaw in the argument has to do with the assumption that people will accept this new breed of millet. The author mentions that the new breed cost more. We need to know how much more it cost as compared to the commonly used millet. In other words, Is it affordable? Maybe the cost of the new millet is so high that majority of residents of Tagus are not able to purchase the product in the first place. If that happens, the argument would be invalid and the plan to fight against Vitamin A deficiency by introducing the new breed of millet may turn out to be a complete failure.

Another question that needs to be answered is, Is the new millet similar to commonly used millet in every aspect except vitamin A levels? Perhaps, the taste of the new millet is too bad or perhaps it difficult to cook the new type of millet? Moreover, Is there any incentive for farmers to grow it?

We have to rule out these possibilities before we can convincingly say that people will most likely accept the millet and can derive benefit from it.

Finally, the author needs to present some data on the safety aspect of consuming the new millet. Perhaps, in the attempts to increase the vitamin A levels in the millet, the engineers might have disturbed the natural functioning of millet seeds, which may prove to be detrimental to health or worse, it may cost lives. We don't know. The question that needs to be answered is, Has any thorough analysis of the side effects of the new millet been performed to predict that it will be as healthy as any other millet? Without a complete knowledge about the safety aspects of the millet, it's nonsensical to promote this new type of millet.

In sum, the author needs to present more data regarding the cost of the new millet, it's similarity with the normal millet in terms of taste, appearance, and ease of cooking. Further, we need to be convinced that the new millet won't be any harmful side-effects. For this, we need to scientifically observe the product on its effects on the human body for some years. Without all this investigation, the government could make a big blunder in promoting and allowing the use of this new type of millet.