An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The writer's argument that the Tagus's government should do everything in order to promote a new type of millet, seems to be based on inherent assumptions and dubious reasoning which seems to render the conclusion rather unconvincing.

First and foremost the writer inherently assumes that impoverishment is the cause of deficiency of the vitamin A among the people. The writer should bring in sufficient evidence that only impoverishment and no other factors like eating disorders, any epidemic or consumption of low vitamin-A diet is leading to such a deficiency. Because a deficiency vitamin is still found in several affluent nations attributed to several other factors.

Besides, these the writer takes a fallacious assumption that since the millet is a staple diet, people will adopt the new millet. A recent example of protests against Genetically modified staple vegetables in India has shown that in spite of food engineered being staple, it is having trouble to get adopted. Moreover, the writer doesn't make it clear whether the engineered variety have similar features to that of the old millet as people would not readily accept a radically different variety of their staple diet.

Besides the adoption of this millet, the writer takes a far-fetched conclusion that the government should do everything in order to promote this new type of millet. This may be a viable way to curb this problem but the writer fails to compare this method with the other alternatives present. It may so happen that much indigenous fruit/vegetable could help curb this deficiency. Hence it would be irrational to support this way without juxtaposing it with several other alternatives.

Moreover, the author makes a dubious claim that the farmers would get subsidies to farm this new variety of millet. The writer should mention the amount of subsidy. Given this, it also begs a question that whether or not the subsidy will be sufficient to overcome the extra cost incurred. Even if the farmers are being financed, there may exist several cheaper alternatives(as discussed) which may not take any financial toll on either farmer on government.

In conclusion, the writer's argument may stand correct if the answers to the raised questions are convincing but with the questions being un-answered the argument seems to stand on rather precarious assumptions.