An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author argues that the efficient way to combat vitamin A deficiency is by promoting the engineered type of millet. This solution for them is likely to work because millet is a staple food and people will be paid subsidies for farming it. These arguments are ambiguous and leave room to a number of questions that need to be answered.

The first question to be asked is: whether these impoverished people will be able to buy and farm the seeds of this highly expensive millet? Even if the author states that the government will pay subsidies for farming it, this amount of money would not be enough for them to buy the seeds and be able to farm and make them grow. In fact, these people are already weak and they will need powerful tools to do the job instead of them. So more expenses will be added and the seeds are more likely to never grow.

Secondly: Wouldn't it be better to use that money wasted on engineering new types of millet into proving the essential need of the citizens? Indeed, People are poor and they need the necessities to live a good life that will reflect on their health. If that money was used to provide healthy food to them, they will be healthier and have efficient vitamins.

Thirdly: Is this solution the most effective one? The inhabitants are weak and vitamin deficient because they are poor. They have no money to buy the essential food. In addition, there is no data that shows if the soil of this nation is perfect for their growth and if there is enough water for them. Thus, this solutions will only cause them to be poorer and weaker. Many other solutions could be opted like finding the cause of the impoverishment and implement strategies that will reverse it. Use Everything to create new factories and job positions, strengthen the educational system instead of promoting a solution that might not work.

In conclusion, the solution provided by the author is superficial as it fails to answer many questions including the ones above. More studies and thinking should be made in order to provide an accurate solution to the real problem that engenders are the smaller ones.