An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet

While may be true that, the people of Tagus has deficiency of Vitamin A but the author's argument about government implementing the planting of millet doesn't make a cogent case. This argument is rife with holes and assumptions. so, the proper investigation is warranted.

Firstly, author didn't tell about the fertility of land that can help grow such type of new breed millet. What if government purchase the seeds and is not able to harvest the plant? Such condition will bring distress to the farmers that are caught with deficiency of vitamin A. Proper investigations of the land should be done before planting such seeds. The climate and environment also may not be favourable to grow. Hence, proper investigating regarding the feasibility of the lands in Tagus should be done by the government agencies or International organization.

Secondly, Let's take another case in which purchasing such new breed of millet is really expensive than the pills that could be economically viable to those persons. In such condition, to obliterate such deficiency, pills will better serve than raising and harvesting the new breed of millet. Government should have to mantain it's check regarding the investment that it could make in such breed. Without having the such documentational validity, one cannot tell that growing such millet will counterattack what Tagus citizens are facing.

Thirdly, Another condition which may arise is that the peoples of Tagus are so conservative and they lack educational background. On such cases, their view may precludes the growth of another breed of millet. They might say that they have been growing their own traditional type of millet since long ages. Their parents and grandparents had been growing and they don't want to ruin their family heirarchy of plantation. On such case, government might face impediments of cultivating the new breed and peoples won't get necessary thing that will obliterate the deficiency of vitamin A.

To sum up, analyzing various factors and angles, the author's argument doesn't justify for the plantation of new breed of millet. Instead the above mentioned arguments will also have to be taken in account.