An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The international development organization as the paragraph says, has engineered a new breed of the millet in the poor state of Tagus which has the high amount of vitamin A in it. The people of Tagus are deficient in vitamin A which can be gained by this high vitamin millet which is grown there. As it is the staple food of the people of Tagus, why are they lacking in the terms of vitamin A is a matter of question and much more.

The first flaw is, the people of the nation Tagus has their staple food as millet which is newly engineered in that place only by an international development organization. Then why are they deficient in the vitamin A? what is the reason for this deficiency is not mentioned in the passage. Even if the consumption of this type of millet is an everyday routine of the people of Tagus, then why are they not healthy and fit. Why do they lack in the terms of vitamins? is an unanswered question in the passage.

The second flaw is, the price of the seeds of that new breed of the millet. According to the international development organization, the price of the seeds of the millet are very high and they are not affordable by the farmers of the Tagus. But it is said that, the farmers will be paid the subsidies required for growing the millet, but there is no surety given to the farmers that the subsidies will be given definitely. If the government of the Tagus has not manifested that they will pay the price for the seeds of the millet and so we cannot consider it as the fact that they will surely give. There is no statistics or sign of surety given to them.

The third flaw is, as the people of the Tagus are already using the millet as a staple food, then they would readily adopt the new variety of the millet with high vitamin A. If the seeds of this millet crop are already at a high price, the cost of the millet would also be high. As the nation, the Tagus is impoverished and has no high amount of earnings. How would the people there adopt that new variety very easily? It is an as different thing that if they cultivate the crop on their own, then they can have it as their food. But again ,the cultivation needs the seed which is of the high amount of cost.

Hence, we can say from the flaws that nor the people of Tagus are so wealthy to own the seeds on their own, neither the government has given the surety to pay subsidies. So, there are many assumptions made in the paragraph and there is the lack of evidence and proofs.