An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The arguments presented in the given passage are flawed for three fundamental reasons.

Firstly, there is no comparison of new breed of millet, which is high in vitamin A, with the existing breed of millet. The passage does not demonstrate practical/laboratory results to prove the same. A survey on the same would make this more clear.

Secondly, there are no discussions on the side effects of increasing vitamin A. While it is understood from the passage that Tagus is a impoverished nation, the organization should take into the account of the side effects that may have negative impact and should discuss the remedy for the same.

Thirdly, there is no clear cut study on other possible staple diets/foods that people of Tagus take in their daily routine, which is not only staple but also rich in vitamin A. The passage does not present any study on the same. If there exists another alternate staple diet which is not only rich in vitamin A, but also cheap inn terms of farming, then there is no necessity to go for costly breed of millet that is rich in vitamin A. Though, the passage mentions that the farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet, it does not not address the cost of these millet in market. If prices are high to purchase these millet, this will seriously affect the people of Tagus, who are already impoverished.

If all three questions are answered, then it is reasonable to push the government of Tagus to promote this new type of millet. Otherwise, it seem to be a vague method without any justifiable reasons.