An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the argument states that people will readily adopt the new breed of millet which is high in vitamin A. The author claims that millet is a staple food in Tagus and farmers will be paid subsidies for farming this new variety of millet to support his conclusion.

To begin with, Tagus is an impoverished nation as given in the argment. So, is the price of new variety of millet(high in vitamin A) same or lower as older millet? This is the question that needs to be answered. If the price of the new breed is same or lower as the older breed then the predicted result is likely to happen. If the price of the millet high in vitamin A is higher than the older one, then the impoverished nation will tend to purchase the older breed of millet only.

Secondly, the higher cost of seeds of new type of millet was the only concern for the farmers is the question.If the answer is yes, then farmers will farm the new variety and people will adopt the new breed of millet readily.But are there are other concerns like more harvesting time needed for the new variety of millet, more loss occurs when growing new variety because they are easily attacked by the pests, etc., then the farmers will not readily grow the new breed of millet high in vitamin A.

Finally, is the amount of subsidy provided to farmers is sufficient enough to buy the seeds of new variety needs to be specified.If the amount is sufficient enough then the predicted results will be achieved. If the amount is not sufficient enough, then the farmer will not be willing to farm new variety of millet and people will not be able to adopt it.

Thus, the conclusion of the argument would be more likely if the above mentioned questions were answered in the argument. Without it,the argument appears flawed and implausible.Hence, I remain unconvinced.