Following the September 11th attack, where the Al-Qaeda acquired bombmaking and terrorist knowledge over the internet, many lawmakers have proposed that an international body regulate the internet so that sites which provide information to terrorists could be eliminated.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the above opinion. Support your opinion with reasons and examples.

The author states that lawmakers have proposed that the internet should be regulated by an international body whose job is to remove sites that provide information to terrorists. Many lawmakers have proposed this suggestion after the terrorist attack by Al-Qaeda. Al-Qaeda learnt bombmaking and terrorist knowledge from the internet and destroyed many lives. Internet can be a boon or a curse. In this case, it was a curse. To make it a boon, there should be a regulating international body. So, I agree with the author. To support my position, I have provided the following reasons given below.

To begin with, Internet should not be the place where terrorists are encouraged for their wrongdoing or acquire their malicious skills. If an international regulating body controls all the sites, then only terrorism could be controlled. Otherwise, terrorists will have full freedom to do whatever they want on the Internet and will be successful in destroying many other lives. Terrorism needs to be controlled because it fails to show that humanity still exists. For example, like a country needs a regulationg body to control all activity inside the country(legislative helps to remove crime), Internet allso needs a body that is impartial towards all and helpsto eliminate terrorism.

Secondly, an international body that is regulating the internet will also stop many other cyber crimes and frauds. Many people are suffering because their passwords are being stolen, photos are being leaked, their money is being stolen with the help of the Internet. A regulating body can also help solve all this problems. Weapons are also beind sold illegally on the Internet which are also used for terrorism or other purposes. This can also be eliminated by the regulating body. This law can alleviate the stress of many people.

Finally, many researchers will argue that this law will eliminate some sites that are useful for their research. Because some scientists are working for the national security of their country and they want this information on the Internet. Some sites can be crypted and they can be made available to only those people who have valid credentials that are given by the regulating body. This will solve the problem of the scientists and will also not help terrorists for their harmful activities. For example, Some military sites can not be accessed by common people and only a person with valid passwords can access it. This sites are protected with high security.

To conclude, I agree with the lawmakers that proposed to have an international regulating body to eliminate sites which help in terrorism. This will help people in many ways. It will protect the people from the deleterious terrorists and will help save lives of many people.