"Jazz music is extremely popular in the city of Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer, and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight. Also, a number of well-known jazz musicians own homes in Monroe. Nevertheless, the nearest jazz club is over an hour away. Given the popularity of jazz in Monroe and a recent nationwide study indicating that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment, a jazz music club in Monroe would be tremendously profitable."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the argument, the writer endorses the recommendation of establishing a jazz club in the city of Monroe and also states that it would be tremendously profitable, by presenting several points to support this claim. To bolster the claim, the writer asserts that over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz music festival and this city also has "jazz Nightly" as its highest-rated radio programs. The writer also states that the city hosts many popular jazz musicians. If we closely inspect these arguments, it is revealed that they lend little credible support to the recommendation as they are based on unwarranted assumptions. In the following paragraphs we dig deeper into scrutinizing the claims made by the writer.

To start with, the writer states that the attendence of the Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer was over 100,000. In my opinion, this argument based on unwarranted assumption that the all the people attending the festival were from Monroe. The writer fails to realize that it is a possibility that the people present at the jazz festival may have come from other cities and states. However, all the people might not be outsiders. So, had the writer made this claim after analysing more vigorously about the crowd at the festival and then made the claim, it would have been more convincing.

Secondly, the writer claims that the city of Monroe hosts some of the well-known jazz artists. The assertion contains multiple flaws. It is based on an unwarranted assumption that artists may have originated from the city. It is possible that the artists must have resided in the city due some other reasons like merely due to availability of property or cheaper rated of homes in the city. The artist may be originally from other parts of the country. And it also seems to unfair to assume that merely due to presence of these artists in the city the jazz more people will be interested in the jazz music.

Moving on, the writer mentions that a nationwide survey claims that typical jazz artist spends $1000 on jazz entertainment. It seems to unfair to assume that this nationwide study can be used to conclude that the people in the city of Monroe will also spend such amount on the jazz entertainment.

To sum up, I would like to state that the arguments presented by the writer to support his recommendation are weak and based on unwarranted assumptions. Had the writer contributed more time in presenting details to the arguments, that would have made the arguments more convincing.