In a laboratory study of two different industrial cleansers, CleanAll was found to remove 40% more dirt and kill 30% more bacteria than the next best cleanser. Furthermore, a study showed that employees working at buildings cleaned with CleanAll used far fewer sick days than employees working in buildings cleaned with other cleansers. Therefore, to prevent employee illness, all companies should use CleanAll as their industrial cleanser.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

It might seem logical, at first glance, to agree with the argument to prevent employee illness, all companies should use CleanAll as their industrial cleanser. There are two studies cited as the reason for the conclusion. However, in order to fully evaluate this argument, we need to have a significant amount of additional evidence. We need to analyze alternate hypothesis and eliminate them, so that the current conclusion remains valid. The argument could end up being much weaker than it seems, or it might actually be quite valid. In order to make that determination, we need to know more then analyze what we learn.

The main idea here is to find the best cleanser in the market to maintain utmost hygiene possible in the workplace in order to prevent employee illness. The first study for this purpose where one industrial cleanser is compared against CleanAll is very vague to draw inferences from. Firstly, we need to know on what criteria the two industrial cleansers were chosen for testing. Were they the among the best cleansers available in the market? Or were they chosen randomly and tested? Assuming that the cleansers claiming to be the best in the market were chosen to conduct the lab study, we need to know the basis for determining themselves to be the best, firsthand. An ideal study would involve testing all the industrial cleansers available in the market; the cleanser which performed highly in removing dirt and killing bacteria could be termed as the best cleanser. Hence, the lab study comparing the performances of only CleanAll and another industrial cleanser is very narrow in its scope to provide any useful insight in this regard.

The second study that is cited as the reason for the conclusion showed that employees working at buildings cleaned with CleanAll used far fewer sick days than employees working in buildings cleaned with other cleansers. The study seems incomplete to come the above conclusion. In order to fully evaluate this claim, we need additional data related to sick leaves taken by the employees. We need to analyze alternate hypothesis and eliminate them in order to strengthen the current hypothesis that CleanAll led to fewer sick leaves. Perhaps employees had other illnesses unrelated to hygiene of the building. Perhaps an injury caused by accidental fall led them to take sick leaves. Unless additional survey questioning the exact motive to take sick leaves is conducted and the results are scrutinized, not much can be derived from the sole study comparing sick leaves of employees in building using CleanAll and not using CleanAll.

Another contentious information missing from the second study is whether the results are statistically significant. The study says employees of CleanAll building used ‘far fewer sick days’ than employees of non-CleanAll building. This is a very vague statement. To come to a conclusion using this statement alone is presumptuous. We need to know what was the actual difference between the sick days. How many buildings were compared for the study? The duration of the study conducted. Answering these critical questions will help us resolve the assumptions to fully evaluate the claim.

Clearly, then, we need to have additional surveys and studies to get the information in order to get a more complete understanding of the effectiveness of a particular industrial cleanser. There may be several other factors causing employee illness than hygiene in the building alone. Hence if the idea is to prevent employee illness, a holistic approach in maintaining the hygiene has to be considered rather focusing on just on an industrial cleanser alone.