In a laboratory study of two different industrial cleansers, CleanAll was found to remove 40% more dirt and kill 30% more bacteria than the next best cleanser. Furthermore, a study showed that employees working at buildings cleaned with cleanAll used far fewer sick leaves than employees working in the buildings cleaned with the other cleaners. Therefore, to prevent employee illness, all companies should use CleanAll as their industrial cleaners.

Write the response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the argument, the author concludes that the Clean All must be used as the industrial cleanser. In order to prove his point, he produces two evidences. First, that in a laboratory study, CleanAll was found to remove 40% more dirt and kill 30% more bacteria than the next best cleanser. Second, a study that showed that employees working at buildings cleaned with CleanAll used far fewer sick leaves than the employees working in buildings cleaned with other cleanser.The argument of the author is based on various unwarranted assumptions like laboratory study gives a perfect picture of how the cleaners work in the real life applications, the employees working in the two buildings observed for the study are have same working conditions and more like these. These assumptions if not warranted can make the argument spurious.

Firstly, in the study of the two buildings in which one cleaned with CleanAll witnessed fewer sick leaves by the employees, the author assumes that the kind of work and working conditions of the employees in both these places is similar. It is quite possible that one building might be dealing with chemicals or furnances that would be causing the sickness. It is also possible that the employees in the building cleaned with other cleaners do not get much of holidays, or might have more working hours that would be causing the sick leaves. Without negating all these plausible causes that could also lead to higher sick leaves, we cannot the entire credit to the cleanAll only. If this assumption of the author proves false, the argument would become weak. Therefore, the author must bring forth the clarification that these two buildings are indeed similar in all aspects to lend credibility to the evidence.

Also, while citing the study of how CleanAll is more effective than other best cleaner in the laboratory, author assumes that the laboratory results are a good measure of how these cleaners would perform in the real life situations. While it is quite possible that though the CleanAll is some percent better in cleansing than the other cleanser, they both are goog enough for the requirements in the industry cleaning. There can also be a possibiliy that both of these cleaners do not meet the requirement of the industrail application they have to be used. Therefore, by only showing than CleanAll is better than the other do not justify that CleanAll serves its purpose well. Hence, the author must produce evidences to prove that CleanAll is effective at the places that it will be actually put to use i.e. the industry.

Furthermore, the author assumes that scince the CleanAll is better than the second cleaner tested in the laboratory, it is the best. It is quite possible that there is some other cleaner that is much better than these two cleaners tested in the laboratory.Therefore, an exhaustive report that compares effectiveness of all cleaners in the market must be submitted by the author to make the argument strong. If this assumption fails, the argument would be damaged.

In sum, there are numerous unstated assumptions employed by the author to make the argument. If these assumptions are not warranted they can seriously undermine the conclusion. To prevent the jeopardy that these assumptions can bring forth, the author must produce clear evidences and bolster the assumptions made.