In a laboratory study of two different industrial cleansers, CleanAll was found to remove 40% more dirt and kill 30% more bacteria than the next best cleanser. Furthermore, a study showed that employees working at buildings cleaned with CleanAll used far fewer sick days than employees working in buildings cleaned with other cleansers. Therefore, to prevent employee illness, all companies should use CleanAll as their industrial cleanser.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The Argument states that a study of two different industrail cleansers was conducted,where it is found that CleanAll removed 40% more dirt and killed 30% more bacteria than the other cleanser.We could not surely say this is valid information as we need more data like conditions where they were used,number of clenaers considerd for the other cleanser etc.The Argument also states that employees working at buildings cleaned with CleanAll used fewer sick days than employees working at buildings cleaned with other cleansers.Now we dont know what types of buildings are this,if employees used sick days only when they were sick.

Firstly the argument assumes that CleanAll removes more dirt and kills more bacteria than the next best cleanser.Now we dont know from how many different cleansers,the second cleanser was selected and also there could exist another better cleanser than the second cleanser which may have not been considered.We also dont know on what conditions the cleaners were used.Consider if CleanAll was used in city office buidlings where there is less dirt and bacteria and the second cleanser was used in some rural office where we would have more dirt then obviously CleanAll will show better results.The Quantities of these cleansers used is also unknown,so if more amount of CleanAll is used,it will show better results.

Secondly,the argument assumes that employees working at buildings cleaned with CleanAll used fewer sick days than employees working at buildings cleaned with other cleansers.These employees taking a hoilday by using sick days could not be sick also.The Validity of their medical certificate should be checked.So if false sick days were used then the employees were not sick and this weakens the assumption.Also we need to know if the buidlings are similar,consider if the buidlings cleaned by CleanAll are in city centre and the buildings cleaned by other cleanser is near a mining or construction site then the probability of employees falling will be high in these buildings as it is near a mine not because of the cleansers used.There could be also chances of employees who are sick reporting to office as they may get a cut in their salary.Now this will also prove the assumption wrong as sick days taken are counted but they do not check if the employee reporting is in good health.

All these instances can weaken this argument.The argument does not stand true as enough data is not provided to validate it.Thus we cannot say that CleanAll should be used in all industrial buildings to prevent employee illness.