lmao

The given argument states that mimicking the way our ancestors ate can help cure the various chronic diseases of present age and time. I highly disagree with the conclusion made, as the theories on which this argument has been made are riddled with holes. Many fallacies are at play.

The advocates and people who support the consumption of the acclaimed Paleo Diets, the food intake method, also claim that human bodies have evolved over time to eat these types of diets. This is a fallacy, as there is absolutely no evidence provided which proves that our bodies have evolved to consume similar types of food that our ancestors also consumed. Firstly, the present generation is so technologically advanced and the way humans behave/ commute/ eat/ work has drastically changed. In the past, humans walked for several hours in the search of food, they exerted themselves physically, they lived under the sun and many kept moving from place to place like nomads, in search of food and shelter. All of this would have surely helped them in developing high immunity and anti-bodies. And the pollution levels/ climatic conditions were not so bad in those halcyon times. Contrastingly, global warming has increased at an alarming rate, and so have the number of accidents occurring on a daily basis, because of the exponentially increasing population and also the ever-growing modernization. So there’s a very high possibility that the evolved generation has developed different food traits.

Furthermore, there is a mention of bone broth, a soup that is cooked by boiling animal bones for long hours, which comes under Paleo diets. There is no credibility for the statement that the health-promoting nutrients present in the bones of animals will actually do any good for human bones and health too. Sure, cartilage helps in healing bones and chondroitin helps with nerve regeneration, but ingesting animal broth soup is not going to have the same effect as the nutrients themselves. It is established that there is anecdotal evidence for the fact that people who intake bone broth soup have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Firstly anecdotal evidence isn’t proof enough because it is based on experiences and not on facts. Secondly, we don’t have sufficient statistics as to how many people does this account for and how many people were actually surveyed and tested. If the numbers are modicum, then this attempt at collecting evidence and concluding from it is futile.

Taking the same point into consideration, if it is assumed that the surveys did take place in a proper manner with sufficient statistics to go along with it, even then it could have been the case that the person was following other nutrition-filled and healthy food diets, which also just happened to include broth soup by chance, and that is why he/she is prone to lesser inflammatory and metabolic diseases. It could have also been the case that the people who didn’t consume broth soup and were surveyed, already might have been suffering from other diseases.

There are innumerable such ways in which the argument can be proved fallible. Proper evidence and results from credible surveys can help in bolstering the given argument.