"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

The argument states that they should invest their resouces in unmanned space flights as they are better than manned space filghts because in the process lives of people are not being risked. The author cites that manned flight is costly and dangerous. However, the argument is rife with holes and flaws and there are several unstated assumptions that need to be conformed before a proper conclusion can be made.

To begin, the author assumes that the recent success of unmanned space probes guarantees its future success. However, this does not have to be true. For instance, the unmanned space probes perhaps, would have needed only images and other static information, but this is not always the case. To do efficient observation and interpretation human mind is a necessity. Further, if men and women are not sent on the flight we might need to create advanced technological machines to fill the space of the human mind. Therefore, this does not guarantee future success of unmanned space flights. The author has to produce specific evidence, the useful information that was gathered was enough for the research and will be so in the future, to strenghten his argument.

Furthermore, the author assumes that manned space flights are so dangerous that men and women would be reluctant to go on such space probes. For example, how dangerous are such space flights? What are the chances of people losing their lives? These questions need to be answered and in terms of probabilty. And as it turns out, some individuals may not consider it as risky as other people do. Therefore, to come to a unanimous decision, the author has to seek proper evidence from the research team about risk calculation, perhaps from past manned space probes and only then come to conclusion. Moreover, was the useful information collected enough? Would sending people on space probes had provided us with better information? The author assumes answers to these questions. If the above assumptions do not hold true and in fact, people are willing to take their chances or maybe, if people in space flights would have provided us with better information, then the argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to produce specific evidence (perhaps in the form of some systematic research) to support her assumptions, like past success being extrapolated to future success and the danger to life in manned space flights, only then, can the argument be efficiently evaluated.