Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight.

In this argument , the arguer suggests to prioritize unmanned space flight over manned space flight. To justify this claim, he states that manned space flight is costly and is prone to serious accidents. He also assumes that a great deal of information can be achieved without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space based on the premise that a number of unmanned space probes and satellites have been launched succesfully. However, a deep analysis on this argument reveals that this argument does not seem convincing.

First of all , the arguer highlights the fact that manned space flight is costly and dangerous but what if the organisation recruits the skilled personnel in order to rectify the mistake that led to the unfortunate situations. Perhaps , the concerned organisation may be planning to change the morphology of the space probes or remove the other particular hindrances which were responsible for the dangerous situations.

Secondly, the arguer has assumed that the grave mistakes ,which could have been done by the person in control of the space probe, will be repeated in future. I dont think this sounds too convincing to incline over his suggestion. When a mistake of such magnitude is committed , the culprit will want to become self-aware . He wants to see where his mistake came from and wants to indulge in a solution . Even if the person does get noticed of it , the higher authority will surely want to replace him with more skill and knowledge.

Thus, the arguer, though he has stated a seemingly cogent assumption , should consider the aforementioned questions and answer it flawlessly in order to make his assumption convincing.