Claim: No act is done purely for the benefit of others.

The present world is dominated by the power of economics, the pursue of wealth. People have integrated the concept of profit-loss in their lives. Every actions are weighed before performed thus marked by profound self-interest. People's are getting result oriented. In such scenario, it is probable to believe that all actions-even those that seem to be done for other people-are based on self interest. However, this is not entirely true. In the world we live, there are those peoples who leave material pleasures and selfishness of every forms and truly serve their deeds for the benefit of other people.

There are many examples where celebrities, famous persons, rich people's help the needy with large amount of donations, conduct reforms and social works. The intention behind their deeds-whether to earn fame or merely to serve people, is difficult to discern. However, there are such people who have nothing to receive, who hide behind the fame and devote themselves completely in serving the people. One of the example is the CNN hero of Nepal, Anuradha Koirala has been constanly supporting the Nepalese girls against sex trafficking, who doesn't interst to come to light so much.

The love of a mother in no ways can be accounted as to self interest. Such feelings-the unselfish concern of people lie with them but are suppressed by the needs and desires to get along and get ahead, the pursue for more wealth, greed and desires. People are respected for the power of money rather than for their altruism and morality. People nearing their death realizing they have nothing to take with them, sometimes give everything to charity just believing the need to benefit the others. Thus, I don't believe that "No act is done purely for the benefit of others". Our system and society could be flawed which had make people driven entirely by self interest and make people believe to it, but there are people who stay beyond the flaw.