Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

Cow flu inoculations when routinely administered to people where it is detected at any scale is an aggressive and imprudent approach when the possibility of a person dying as a result of the inoculation is accounted for. The decisive factors that can be used are the the frequency and rate of spread.

Given that a certain location has an outbreak of disease, the number of people affected, if small can be isolated and the outbreak can be curbed without the need of administering inoculations to all the people in the area. One might argues that frequency might not be enough as population density and activities that people might be involved will differ from place to place and a cogent argument it is. This is where the rate of spread of the flu comes in.

Let's consider four scenarios with all possible combinations of these two factors. In the first scenario, a population segment where the flu is spreading at an alarming rate, irrespective of the number of already infected individuals, inoculations must be administered to all individuals within a defined predicted geographical boundary. In the second scenario, the number of cases of flu are high, but these numbers are increasing very slowly. One might conclude that if the inoculations are required only for the people closely in contact with the infected individuals. In the third scenario, when both of these factors are high points to an impending epidemic and hence inoculations for the entire population is necessary, especially when occurrences are geographically sporadic. Fourth and final scenario is when both of these factors are low, in which case it is imprudent to administer and risk the lives of many rather than inoculate those specific set of individuals in close contact with the infected individuals wherever they might be.