A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

Is it fair to judge a fish on it's ability to climb a tree? The answer to that question hints towards a major flaw in the requirement of all students to adhere to the national curriculum until they go to college. I stand against this argument because enforcement of knowledge without regard for one's interests is unfair just like to the fish in the aen expectation to pee times in the course of their schooling.

Out of these many interests, one or a few resonate with the student's conscience and dreams and they need to explore it further to find out if they'd like to pursue it further in college. For this process to take place, independence to explore subjects is the key. A national curriculum if more fixated to disburse uniform knowledge until college rather allow freedom to explore and let the students decide after much thought and make a prudent discernment regarding college. For example, in India, curriculum is same for all till high school post which students get to decide between economics, computer science, accounting and many more subjects that they'd like to learn and explore further in depth. They are merely introduced to these topics superficially before high school. Two years of high school helps them decide if they'd really want to followthrough with it as a career or not. Many students in India still believe that this system in place in inadequate for them to make thoroughgoing decisions. If a natioanl curriculem were to be extended to high school as well, experiencing it first hand myself, confusion would be much more widespread and engender a much more dire situation.

Another drawback of having such a system is that given the dynamic world we live in, goals of learning change quite frequently. This system will create discrepancies and knowledge gaps between different bactches if the curriculum is updated regualarly at best. If it's not and enough buffer isn't provided before college; apart from a knowledge gap, we will have entire batches of students who'd not be either aware or might not have enough knowledge about the options available that to decipher their interests and match it with opportunities available. For example, given the importacne of computers, if a curriculum dosen't focus enough on it, or gives time to the student to explore it further, we may be looking towards a more confused youth who make choices on basis of hearsay and advice rather than tehir own instinct and experience. It might work out for some but their will be a considerable segement, as in India today who feel that they have been denied the chance to have more control over their future. Feeings like these develop over time to hinder a successful and happy life.

National curriculums serve the purspose of providing essential knowledge to all; however, enforcing it to just before college isn't a cogent path to take. Students need to be given a chance to explore rather than given vasts amount of knowledge they might never need.