Over the past year, our late night program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers was concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenue, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its formal level

The argument correlates advertising revenue to the increased time allotted for national news at the cost of weather and local news and concludes by holding the new time allocation accountable for the advertising revenue loss.

Firstly, the driver of this argument is complaints received over that past year. These concerns may be concentrated during organized or celebrated local events when viewers may have wanted more coverage for them. Similarly, they may have complained in large numbers when local weather was more of a concern than national events. This might very well explain the large number of complaints but not for the entirety of the year, rather just for specific time periods during the year. For example, people might be more interested in the local contest for the biggest pumpkin grown as a part of their tradition rather than ongoing national political drama.

Another shortcoming of the argument is the deeper analysis of the viewer segments who complained. These viewers may not represent the thinking of the entire audience and may have included only a small group consistently putting complaints. Also, the complaints aren't clearly specified as to being only for the late night news program which casts a doubt over the claim. There may have been more complaints regarding more allocation for weather and local news at a different time slot than that of the program in question here.

With respect to the reducing advertisement sales for the late night slot, the sales might have been on reducing trend due to the businesses being able to sustain without it and not requiring advertisements anymore. These cancellations maybe because of budget cuts and tough market conditions too which are in no relation to the time allocation of local and national news. There might also have been other new channels the businesses might have moved their advertising to for they might be more popular and attract larger audiences.

Given the ambuguity, the argument concludes by saying to avoid losing further revenue, they need to resort back to their time allocation to their former levels. The reasons for time allocation changed to these might have been because of another set of demands from the user in which case, the loss in business and complaints may be accrued to improper or incomplete understanding of user needs.