Milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium—substances essential for building and maintaining bones. Many people therefore say that a diet rich in dairy products can help prevent osteoporosis, a disease that is linked to both environmental and genetic factors and that causes the bones to weaken significantly with age. But a long-term study of a large number of people found that those who consistently consumed dairy products throughout the years of the study have a higher rate of bone fractures than any other participants in the study. Since bone fractures are symptomatic of osteoporosis, this study result shows that a diet rich in dairy products may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the prompt states that according to the study conducted, a large number of people who consistently consumed dairy products have a higher chance of getting bone fractures than any other participants in the study. Based on this study result, the author claims that a diet rich in dairy products containing high vitamin D and calcium that are believed to be essential substances for building and maintaining bones, on the other hand, cause the likeliness of getting bones fractures higher. In order to prove whether this argument is cogent, we need to examine some evidence including the sport activities of the participants joining the study, the participant’s level of consumption, as well as the possibility whether the participants who didn’t consume milk and dairy products consistently might or might not consume other foods and drinks containing high vitamin D and calcium.

First of all, the author appears to assume that just because the study participants consistently consume milk and dairy products, they would be difficult to get osteoporosis. Although milk and dairy products, in fact, contain such a high amount of these nutrients claimed to be essential for bones, it would be effective and efficient if we find the fact that the study participants who consumed those products regularly, actually didn’t or rarely do any sport activity in their daily live. Generally speaking, sport activities are also very essential in order to prevent any diseases related to bones, particularly bones. Despite consuming foods containing vitamin D and calcium everyday with high content, it does not necessarily mean that they could stay away from osteoporosis. In order to make those nutrients work well, they should also at least run or do jogging regularly. In such a case, the argument presented by the author would be weakened.

Turning to the second point, in addition to possibility of doing less sport activities, we should also know whether the consumption rate for foods and beverages containing calcium and vitamin D for all the study participants before rashly concluding the argument that vitamin D and calcium, on the contrary, increase the likeliness of having osteoporosis when getting older. Take, for example, the study participants might drink milk and eat dairy products too much as to cause excess nutrients, then the possibility of getting osteoporosis or other related bone diseases might be caused by this excess level. If this evidence is proven, then the validity of the argument would be apocryphal.

Last but not least, the author points out that the participants who didn’t regularly consume milk and dairy products have less chance to encounter osteoporosis because of low level of vitamin D and calcium absorbed. However, the study fails to address whether there is possibility that this study participants might consume other foods containing vitamin D and calcium or even other nutrients such as zinc that could be also advantageous in preventing osteoporosis. If the study shows that this participants who didn’t eat dairy products and drink milk regularly, in fact, get those nutrients from other food sources, then the author’s claim would be not cogent.

To put it in a nutshell, although the author has made an interesting hypothesis that vitamin D and calcium, on the other hand, would be more likely to cause osteoporosis, there are several evidence we need to examine beforehand concluding such a claim including the sport activities of the participants, the participant’s level of consumption for calcium and vitamin D, as well as the possibility whether the participants other foods and drinks containing high vitamin D and calcium. This litany of unsupported information seriously jeopardizes the argument and make the claim bereft of critical foundations. With this information in place, the argument would be not only convincing, but cogent.