My car broke down yesterday, and I need a car to get to work. Therefore, I should buy a new car.

The author claims here that he should buy a new car. Stated in this way, the argument reveals several instances of poor reasoning and ill-defined terminology. To justify this conclusion, the author notes that his car is broken and he needs to drive with his own car to go to work. However, scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s recommendation. Hence the argument can be considered unsubstantiated.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that he cannot repair and fix his car. This is merely an assumption made without much solid ground. For example, by paying a little amount of money, any major problem of most cars can be fixed in a short time. Hence, the argument would have been much more convincing if it explicitly stated that the car is unfixable or it has very major problems which needs too much money to fix.

The argument readily claims that he cannot ask his friends, family members, or coworkers to borrow their cars or give him a ride to work. This again is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate any clear correlation between the broken car and buying a new car. cannot he easily ask his family members to borrow their car? If the argument had provided evidence that borrowing a car was not possible; then, it would have been a lot more convincing to the reader.

Finally, the author cites that the only way to go to work is to drive by his private car. However, scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s conclusion in several critical respects, and raises several skeptical questions. For example, the writer can use public transportation such as a bus or subway to go to work or if it is not far, he can ride by bicycle. Without convincing answers to these questions, the reader is left with the impression that the claims made by the author are more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide better evidence, perhaps by way of a reliable analysis of the reasons why he needs a new car. Finally, to better evaluate the survey, it would be necessary to know more information about why it is not possible to fix the car? why borrowing a car from family members or coworkers is not an option? and why he does not use public transportation to go to work?